Even Sweeter the Third Time

As usual, I arrived home yesterday after my day at Salmon Bay, gathered my armload of belongings from the front car seat, and made my way to the back door.  As I put my key into the lock on the door, I knew what I was setting into motion.  Each day, you’ve come to know that in the afternoon, the sound of the bolt moving aside means, “Mama’s home!” Whatever you’re doing stops.  My first glimpse of you at that moment always melts me with the purest joy.  From the middle of the kitchen floor, you move toward me with frantic, breakneck speed using the special crawl you’ve perfected.    Left leg tucked under, hands spread wide – here she comes!    Yesterday was the same.  You pulled yourself over the pile of sandwich bags, containers and kitchen tools you’d spread all around.   But this time, you stopped.  Still outside the reach of my outstretched arms, you sat back, smoothly pulled yourself up onto your feet and rocked gingerly until you settled into balance.  A small smile lifted the corners of your mouth as you raised your shoulders and moved so perfectly each of your legs in turn.  You walked to me!

Leave a Reply

